Skip to main content
close
Font size options
Increase or decrease the font size for this website by clicking on the 'A's.
Contrast options
Choose a color combination to give the most comfortable contrast.
Image for event: The Reverse Underground Railroad in Ohio

Registration now closed

The Reverse Underground Railroad in Ohio

2023-04-15 11:00:00 2023-04-15 12:00:00 America/New_York The Reverse Underground Railroad in Ohio Ohio is known for its part in the Underground Railroad, but with this came the Reverse Underground Railroad. One brought freedom, while the other brought slavery. Registration required. Green Branch Library - Community Room

Saturday, April 15
11:00am - 12:00pm

Add to Calendar 2023-04-15 11:00:00 2023-04-15 12:00:00 America/New_York The Reverse Underground Railroad in Ohio Ohio is known for its part in the Underground Railroad, but with this came the Reverse Underground Railroad. One brought freedom, while the other brought slavery. Registration required. Green Branch Library - Community Room

Green Branch Library

Community Room

Ohio is known for its part in the Underground Railroad, but with this came the Reverse Underground Railroad. One brought freedom, while the other brought slavery. Registration required.

Prior to the Civil War, thousands escaped slavery via the Underground Railroad. Untold others failed in the attempt.

These unfortunate souls were dragged into bondage via the Reverse Underground Railroad, as it came to be called. With more lines on both roads than any other state, the Free State of Ohio became a hunting ground for slave catchers and kidnappers who roamed the North with impunity, seeking "fugitives" or any person of color who could be sold into slavery. And when they found one, they would kidnap their victim and head south to reap the reward.

Authors David Meyers and Elise Meyers Walker reveal not only the terror and injustice but also the bravery and determination born of this dark time in American history.

There will be books available for purchase.

https://www.explodingstove.com/

AGE GROUP: | Adults |

EVENT TYPE: | History | Books & Writing |

TAGS: | Black History |

Green Branch Library

green@akronlibrary.org
Phone: 330.896.9074
Branch manager
Sherry Swisher

Hours
Mon, Apr 08 10:00AM to 8:00PM
Tue, Apr 09 10:00AM to 8:00PM
Wed, Apr 10 10:00AM to 8:00PM
Thu, Apr 11 10:00AM to 8:00PM
Fri, Apr 12 12:00PM to 6:00PM
Sat, Apr 13 10:00AM to 5:00PM
Sun, Apr 14 Closed

About the branch

The Green Branch Library offers fun, exciting, and educational programs for customers of all ages, both in the Library and throughout the Green community. Visit us for preschool storytime and school-age and family events at the Library. Visit our NatureConnect space and also look for our youth librarians in your schools' classrooms where they will be making a visit soon. Adults can participate in book discussion groups, including our newest, the Food For Thought Cookbook Club, and attend informative programs on health and wellness, financial education, local history, and much more. While at the library, computers, WiFi, faxing and scanning are available for your use. Books, movies, and music are ready for you to borrow.

Next time you're out and about in our community—at the Celebration of Education, Freedom Fest, Trick or Treat Trail, Christmas at Town Park—look for the Green Branch Library table and the friendly Library staff. We want to say hello and share all that's happening at your public library.

Upcoming Events

Mon, Apr 15, 6:30pm - 7:15pm
Community Room

Tue, Apr 16, 10:30am - 11:15am
Community Room

Tue, Apr 16, 6:30pm - 7:30pm
Community Room

Wed, Apr 17, 6:00pm - 7:00pm
Community Room

Thu, Apr 18, 10:30am - 11:15am
Community Room

Fri, Apr 19, 12:00pm - 4:00pm
Children's Area

Sat, Apr 20, 10:30am - 12:30pm
Community Room

Sat, Apr 20, 1:00pm - 2:00pm
Community Room

Fri, Apr 26, 12:00pm - 4:00pm
Children's Area

Sat, Apr 27, 10:00am - 4:00pm
Community Room

Mon, Apr 29, 6:30pm - 7:30pm
Community Room

Fri, May 03, 12:00pm - 4:00pm
Children's Area

Sat, May 04, 10:30am - 12:00pm
Community Room

Sat, May 04, 12:00pm - 4:00pm
Children's Area

Mon, May 06, 10:00am - 5:00pm

Tue, May 07, 10:30am - 11:15am
Community Room

Tue, May 07, 6:30pm - 7:30pm
Community Room

Thu, May 09, 10:30am - 11:15am
Community Room

Fri, May 10, 12:00pm - 4:00pm
Children's Area

Sat, May 11, 1:00pm - 3:00pm
Community Room

Mon, May 13, 6:30pm - 7:30pm
Community Room

Tue, May 14, 10:30am - 11:15am
Community Room

Tue, May 14, 1:00pm - 2:00pm
Community Room

Tue, May 14, 6:00pm - 7:30pm
Community Room