Skip to main content
close
Font size options
Increase or decrease the font size for this website by clicking on the 'A's.
Contrast options
Choose a color combination to give the most comfortable contrast.

Registration now closed

The Truth About Sojourner

2023-02-18 13:00:00 2023-02-18 14:00:00 America/New_York The Truth About Sojourner Join performer Josy Jones to hear the story of Sojourner Truth's life and famous speech, "Ain't I a Woman." Examine artifacts from the time. Register in person, online, or by phone at 330.784.7522. Goodyear Branch Library - Community Room

Saturday, February 18
1:00pm - 2:00pm

Add to Calendar 2023-02-18 13:00:00 2023-02-18 14:00:00 America/New_York The Truth About Sojourner Join performer Josy Jones to hear the story of Sojourner Truth's life and famous speech, "Ain't I a Woman." Examine artifacts from the time. Register in person, online, or by phone at 330.784.7522. Goodyear Branch Library - Community Room

Goodyear Branch Library

Community Room

Join performer Josy Jones to hear the story of Sojourner Truth's life and famous speech, "Ain't I a Woman." Examine artifacts from the time. Register in person, online, or by phone at 330.784.7522.

Josy Jones is the founder of The Chameleon Village Theater Collective.

Artifacts provided by The Summit County Historical Society.

AGE GROUP: | Tween | Teen | School Age (Grades K-2) | School Age (Grades 3-5) | Adults |

EVENT TYPE: | Special Events | History | Education |

TAGS: | |

Goodyear Branch Library

goodyear@akronlibrary.org
Phone: 330.784.7522
Branch manager
Tonya Gardella

Hours
Mon, Apr 08 10:00AM to 8:00PM
Tue, Apr 09 10:00AM to 8:00PM
Wed, Apr 10 10:00AM to 8:00PM
Thu, Apr 11 10:00AM to 8:00PM
Fri, Apr 12 12:00PM to 6:00PM
Sat, Apr 13 10:00AM to 5:00PM
Sun, Apr 14 Closed

About the branch

If you've found the historic Goodyear sign at the corner of East Market Street and Goodyear Boulevard, you've arrived at the Goodyear Branch Library. The library honors its past with its two 1939 fireplaces, cozy window seats, and artwork by local artists celebrating flight, motion, and the community's aeronautic roots. The library serves its customers very much in the present, with computers and computer classes, WiFi, scanning and faxing, engaging programming for all ages, and a collection of books, movies, and music that is sure to appeal to a great variety of reading, viewing, and listening tastes.

The Goodyear Branch Library is a community gathering place for local non-profit organizations and Ward Council meetings. Goodyear Branch staff can be found out and about at local events and in preschool, elementary, middle, and high schools bringing news of library events and sharing story and library how-to. With redevelopment in the community's horizon, Goodyear Branch Library remains a community anchor, continuing the tradition of responsive service to all.

Upcoming Events

Mon, Apr 15, 10:30am - 11:15am
Community Room

Sat, Apr 20, 2:00pm - 3:30pm
Community Room

Mon, Apr 22, 10:30am - 11:15am
Community Room

Wed, Apr 24, 3:30pm - 4:30pm
Conference Room

Thu, May 02, 3:30pm - 4:30pm
Community Room

Sat, May 04, 11:00am - 1:00pm
Community Room

Mon, May 06, 10:30am - 11:15am
Community Room

Mon, May 06, 12:00pm - 4:00pm
Conference Room

Mon, May 06, 6:30pm - 7:30pm
Community Room
Registration opens Monday, April 15 2024 at 10:00am

Tue, May 07, 6:00pm - 7:00pm
Community Room

Wed, May 08, 1:00pm - 2:00pm
Community Room
Registration opens Wednesday, April 17 2024 at 10:00am

Wed, May 08, 3:30pm - 4:30pm
Community Room

Wed, May 08, 5:00pm - 7:30pm
Conference Room

Thu, May 09, 5:00pm - 7:30pm
Conference Room

Mon, May 13, 10:30am - 11:15am
Community Room

Mon, May 13, 12:30pm - 2:00pm
Community Room
Registration opens Monday, April 22 2024 at 10:00am

Mon, May 13, 4:00pm - 5:00pm
Children's Play Area

Mon, May 13, 6:30pm - 7:30pm
Community Room
Registration opens Monday, April 22 2024 at 10:00am