close
Font size options
Increase or decrease the font size for this website by clicking on the 'A's.
Contrast options
Choose a colour combintion to give he most comfortable contrast.

Black History Month: True Justice

Bryan Stevenson's Fight for Equality

2020-02-22 14:00:00 2020-02-22 16:00:00 America/New_York Black History Month: True Justice Main Library

Saturday, February 22
2:00pm - 4:00pm

Add to Calendar 2020-02-22 14:00:00 2020-02-22 16:00:00 America/New_York Black History Month: True Justice True Justice: Bryan Stevenson's Fight for Equality, follows Stevenson through his experiences as a capital defense attorney and advocate for community-based reform. Main Library

Main Library

Meeting Room 2AB

True Justice: Bryan Stevenson's Fight for Equality, follows Stevenson through his experiences as a capital defense attorney and advocate for community-based reform.

Interweaving watershed moments from Stevenson’s cases with insights from his clients, colleagues and members of his family, the film focuses on Stevenson’s life and career – particularly his indictment of the U.S. criminal-justice system for its role in codifying modern systemic racism – and tracks the intertwined histories of slavery, lynching, segregation and mass incarceration.

AGE GROUP: | Adults |

EVENT TYPE: | Movies | Law & Legal |

TAGS: | Reentry |

Main Library

Phone: 330.643.9000

Hours
Mon, Jul 06 11:00AM to 7:00PM
Tue, Jul 07 11:00AM to 7:00PM
Wed, Jul 08 11:00AM to 7:00PM
Thu, Jul 09 11:00AM to 7:00PM
Fri, Jul 10 11:00AM to 5:00PM
Sat, Jul 11 Closed
Sun, Jul 12 Closed

About the library

Main Library, located in the heart of downtown Akron, combines compelling public space with meaningful and relevant public library services for all members of our community. Since opening in 2004, the downtown library welcomes more than one million visitors each year.

Subject divisions include: Business & Government, Culture & AV, Magazines & Newspapers, Science & Technology, Special Collections (local history & genealogy), Teen, and a 12,000 square feet Children's Library.

Special services available at Main Library include: a Patent & Trademark Resource Center; U.S. Passport and Notary services; a Microbusiness Center; a Maker Space; a resource lab for early childhood educators; and regularly scheduled computer training classes. Also available at Main Library are more than 125 public access computers, color photocopiers/printers, laminating, scanning, faxing, and free Wi-Fi.

Specialized spaces include a 425-seat auditorium, public meeting rooms, and a used bookstore. An interior glass block walkway leads to a 600-space parking garage owned by the City of Akron. An outdoor amphitheater and landscaped park complete the complex.

Upcoming events

Canceled
Wed, Jul 08, 10:30am - 11:30am

Canceled
Wed, Jul 08, 2:00pm - 3:00pm

Canceled
Thu, Jul 09, 10:30am - 11:30am

Canceled
Thu, Jul 09, 1:30pm - 3:00pm

Canceled
Sat, Jul 11, 11:00am - 12:00pm

Canceled
Sat, Jul 11, 3:00pm - 4:00pm

Canceled
Sun, Jul 12, 2:00pm - 2:30pm

Canceled
Mon, Jul 13, 10:30am - 11:30am

Canceled
Tue, Jul 14, 10:30am - 11:30am

Canceled
Tue, Jul 14, 3:00pm - 4:00pm

Canceled
Wed, Jul 15, 10:30am - 11:30am

Canceled
Wed, Jul 15, 2:00pm - 3:00pm

Canceled
Wed, Jul 15, 5:30pm - 6:30pm

Canceled
Wed, Jul 15, 6:30pm - 7:30pm

Canceled
Thu, Jul 16, 10:30am - 11:30am

Canceled
Thu, Jul 16, 1:30pm - 3:15pm

Canceled
Thu, Jul 16, 4:00pm - 7:30pm

Canceled
Sat, Jul 18, 11:00am - 4:00pm

Canceled
Sat, Jul 18, 1:00pm - 3:00pm

Canceled
Sun, Jul 19, 2:00pm - 2:30pm

Canceled
Mon, Jul 20, 10:30am - 11:30am

Canceled
Tue, Jul 21, 3:00pm - 4:00pm

Canceled
Wed, Jul 22, 10:30am - 11:30am

Canceled
Wed, Jul 22, 2:00pm - 3:00pm

Canceled
Thu, Jul 23, 10:30am - 11:30am

Canceled
Thu, Jul 23, 1:30pm - 3:10pm

Canceled
Sat, Jul 25, 2:00pm - 3:00pm

Canceled
Sun, Jul 26, 2:00pm - 2:30pm

Canceled
Mon, Jul 27, 10:30am - 11:30am

Canceled
Tue, Jul 28, 3:00pm - 4:00pm

Canceled
Wed, Jul 29, 10:30am - 11:30am

Canceled
Wed, Jul 29, 2:00pm - 3:00pm

Canceled
Thu, Jul 30, 10:30am - 11:30am

Canceled
Thu, Jul 30, 1:30pm - 3:00pm

Canceled
Sat, Aug 01, 11:00am - 12:00pm

Canceled
Sun, Aug 02, 2:00pm - 2:30pm

Canceled
Mon, Aug 03, 10:30am - 11:30am

Canceled
Mon, Aug 03, 11:00am - 12:00pm

Canceled
Tue, Aug 04, 11:00am - 12:00pm

Canceled
Wed, Aug 05, 10:30am - 11:30am

Canceled
Wed, Aug 05, 11:00am - 12:00pm

Canceled
Thu, Aug 06, 10:30am - 11:30am

Canceled
Thu, Aug 06, 11:00am - 12:00pm

Canceled
Thu, Aug 06, 1:30pm - 3:45pm

Canceled
Fri, Aug 07, 11:00am - 12:00pm