close
Font size options
Increase or decrease the font size for this website by clicking on the 'A's.
Contrast options
Choose a colour combintion to give he most comfortable contrast.
Canceled

Organizing Your Genealogy Research

Kelli Bergheimer will present two lectures on Organizing Your Genealogy Research: "Organization and Citation for the Family Historian" and "Family tree Software Options."

The Special Collections Division of the Akron-Summit County Public Library and the Summit County Chapter of the Ohio Genealogical Society present Organizing Your Genealogy Research with Kelli Bergheimer.

Kelli Bergheimer is a writer, teacher, editor, and national genealogical speaker. She holds an M.Ed. in Curriculum and Instruction and an M.B.A. Kelli runs two small businesses—Geo-Centric Learning and Mess on the Desk, a genealogical organization company with an accompanying blog, YouTube channel, and online store. She is a member of the Association of Professional Genealogists, International Society of Genetic Genealogy, and the Genealogical Speakers Guild. Her program will consist of two lectures:

Organization and Citation for the Family Historian
Learn about genealogical citations and how to build a road map back to where you found information. Learn tips and tricks to organize your papers, photos, documents, research, DNA cousins, research trips, and digital records. Learn some common backup tools to protect what you have acquired. Organize yourself in a way that leaves you more time for the fun stuff of genealogy—sharing, publishing, and finding even more!

Family Tree Software Options
Learn strategies to build a robust, portable, sourced, cloud-synchronized digital tree. Learn about privacy options and how to backup your tree to prevent losing everything. Learn strategies to maximize your DNA information—messaging matches, sharing trees, and how to use surname message boards. Several popular family tree software options will be discussed including Family Tree Maker software and RootsMagic.

The program is free and open to the public, and parking is free in the High-Market Parking Deck. Register online, by phone or in person. For more information, contact the Special Collections Division at 330-643-9030 or speccollections@akronlibrary.org.

AGE GROUP: | Adults |

EVENT TYPE: | Genealogy |

TAGS: | Organization | Genealogy | Family Tree | Ancestry |

Main Library

Phone: 330.643.9000

Hours
Mon, Jul 06 11:00AM to 7:00PM
Tue, Jul 07 11:00AM to 7:00PM
Wed, Jul 08 11:00AM to 7:00PM
Thu, Jul 09 11:00AM to 7:00PM
Fri, Jul 10 11:00AM to 5:00PM
Sat, Jul 11 Closed
Sun, Jul 12 Closed

About the library

Main Library, located in the heart of downtown Akron, combines compelling public space with meaningful and relevant public library services for all members of our community. Since opening in 2004, the downtown library welcomes more than one million visitors each year.

Subject divisions include: Business & Government, Culture & AV, Magazines & Newspapers, Science & Technology, Special Collections (local history & genealogy), Teen, and a 12,000 square feet Children's Library.

Special services available at Main Library include: a Patent & Trademark Resource Center; U.S. Passport and Notary services; a Microbusiness Center; a Maker Space; a resource lab for early childhood educators; and regularly scheduled computer training classes. Also available at Main Library are more than 125 public access computers, color photocopiers/printers, laminating, scanning, faxing, and free Wi-Fi.

Specialized spaces include a 425-seat auditorium, public meeting rooms, and a used bookstore. An interior glass block walkway leads to a 600-space parking garage owned by the City of Akron. An outdoor amphitheater and landscaped park complete the complex.

Upcoming events

Canceled
Wed, Jul 08, 10:30am - 11:30am

Canceled
Wed, Jul 08, 2:00pm - 3:00pm

Canceled
Thu, Jul 09, 10:30am - 11:30am

Canceled
Thu, Jul 09, 1:30pm - 3:00pm

Canceled
Sat, Jul 11, 11:00am - 12:00pm

Canceled
Sat, Jul 11, 3:00pm - 4:00pm

Canceled
Sun, Jul 12, 2:00pm - 2:30pm

Canceled
Mon, Jul 13, 10:30am - 11:30am

Canceled
Tue, Jul 14, 10:30am - 11:30am

Canceled
Tue, Jul 14, 3:00pm - 4:00pm

Canceled
Wed, Jul 15, 10:30am - 11:30am

Canceled
Wed, Jul 15, 2:00pm - 3:00pm

Canceled
Wed, Jul 15, 5:30pm - 6:30pm

Canceled
Wed, Jul 15, 6:30pm - 7:30pm

Canceled
Thu, Jul 16, 10:30am - 11:30am

Canceled
Thu, Jul 16, 1:30pm - 3:15pm

Canceled
Thu, Jul 16, 4:00pm - 7:30pm

Canceled
Sat, Jul 18, 11:00am - 4:00pm

Canceled
Sat, Jul 18, 1:00pm - 3:00pm

Canceled
Sun, Jul 19, 2:00pm - 2:30pm

Canceled
Mon, Jul 20, 10:30am - 11:30am

Canceled
Tue, Jul 21, 3:00pm - 4:00pm

Canceled
Wed, Jul 22, 10:30am - 11:30am

Canceled
Wed, Jul 22, 2:00pm - 3:00pm

Canceled
Thu, Jul 23, 10:30am - 11:30am

Canceled
Thu, Jul 23, 1:30pm - 3:10pm

Canceled
Sat, Jul 25, 2:00pm - 3:00pm

Canceled
Sun, Jul 26, 2:00pm - 2:30pm

Canceled
Mon, Jul 27, 10:30am - 11:30am

Canceled
Tue, Jul 28, 3:00pm - 4:00pm

Canceled
Wed, Jul 29, 10:30am - 11:30am

Canceled
Wed, Jul 29, 2:00pm - 3:00pm

Canceled
Thu, Jul 30, 10:30am - 11:30am

Canceled
Thu, Jul 30, 1:30pm - 3:00pm

Canceled
Sat, Aug 01, 11:00am - 12:00pm

Canceled
Sun, Aug 02, 2:00pm - 2:30pm

Canceled
Mon, Aug 03, 10:30am - 11:30am

Canceled
Mon, Aug 03, 11:00am - 12:00pm

Canceled
Tue, Aug 04, 11:00am - 12:00pm

Canceled
Wed, Aug 05, 10:30am - 11:30am

Canceled
Wed, Aug 05, 11:00am - 12:00pm

Canceled
Thu, Aug 06, 10:30am - 11:30am

Canceled
Thu, Aug 06, 11:00am - 12:00pm

Canceled
Thu, Aug 06, 1:30pm - 3:45pm

Canceled
Fri, Aug 07, 11:00am - 12:00pm