close
Font size options
Increase or decrease the font size for this website by clicking on the 'A's.
Contrast options
Choose a colour combintion to give he most comfortable contrast.

Registration now closed

Off the Page Author Series

Scott Longert Author Visit

2019-04-23 18:30:00 2019-04-23 20:00:00 America/New_York Off the Page Author Series Firestone Park Branch Library

Tuesday, April 23
6:30pm - 8:00pm

Add to Calendar 2019-04-23 18:30:00 2019-04-23 20:00:00 America/New_York Off the Page Author Series Cleveland Indians historian Scott Longert visits the Firestone Park Branch Library to discuss his latest book Bad Times, Bad Boys, about the Indians in the prewar years, 1939-1944. Firestone Park Branch Library

Cleveland Indians historian Scott Longert visits the Firestone Park Branch Library to discuss his latest book Bad Times, Bad Boys, about the Indians in the prewar years, 1939-1944.

Scott Longert has spent many years in the history field serving as the Sports Archivist for the Western Reserve Historical Society and Site Manager for Shandy Hall, an 1815 home in northeast Ohio. Scott was a Park Ranger for the National Park Service, stationed at the James A. Garfield National Historic Site until his recent retirement.

Scott's other books about the Indians include The Best They Could Be, No Money; No Beer, No Pennants: The Cleveland Indians and Baseball in the Great Depression; and Addie Joss: King of the Pitchers.

In addition to writing, Scott is an accomplished speaker. He spoke at the 100th-anniversary ceremony of Addie Joss's perfect game, held on the grounds of historic League Park.

AGE GROUP: | Adults |

EVENT TYPE: | Books & Writing |

TAGS: | |

Firestone Park Branch Library

firestone@akronlibrary.org
Phone: 330.724.2126
Branch Manager
Susan Vandenberg

Hours
Mon, Sep 14 10:00AM to 8:00PM
Tue, Sep 15 10:00AM to 8:00PM
Wed, Sep 16 10:00AM to 8:00PM
Thu, Sep 17 10:00AM to 8:00PM
Fri, Sep 18 12:00PM to 6:00PM
Sat, Sep 19 10:00AM to 5:00PM
Sun, Sep 20 Closed

About the library

The Firestone Park Branch Library has the tools and resources that customers need to meet their personal and professional goals—computers and computer classes, mini-clinics for one-on-one tech assistance, WiFi, printing, copying, scanning, faxing, and more. A rich collection of books, music, and movies, including a large Parent-Teacher collection, complements these services, offering learning and entertainment opportunities responsive to the needs and interests of the Firestone Park community.


The Firestone Park Branch Library is also a neighborhood hub for programming for all ages—storytime for the youngest customers, Fun Club for school-age visitors, teen gaming and crafting, adult learning opportunities, and an evolving NatureConnect space that inspires outdoor exploration programming across the seasons. Firestone Branch Library staff is out in the community—at schools and local events—and at the library to bring educational and entertainment resources to all.

Upcoming events

Mon, Sep 21, All day

Mon, Sep 21, All day

Mon, Sep 21, 3:00pm - 3:30pm
Zoom

Wed, Sep 23, 3:00pm - 5:00pm
Zoom

Thu, Sep 24, 11:00am - 11:30am
Zoom

Mon, Sep 28, All day

Mon, Sep 28, All day

Mon, Sep 28, 10:00am - 11:00am
Zoom

Mon, Sep 28, 3:00pm - 3:30pm
Zoom

Wed, Sep 30, 3:00pm - 5:00pm
Zoom

Thu, Oct 01, 11:00am - 11:30am
Zoom

Thu, Oct 01, 3:00pm - 4:00pm
Zoom

Wed, Oct 07, 6:30pm - 7:00pm
Zoom

Thu, Oct 08, 11:00am - 11:30am
Zoom

Thu, Oct 08, 3:00pm - 4:00pm
Zoom

Sat, Oct 10, 10:00am - 10:30am
Zoom

Sat, Oct 10, 1:00pm - 2:00pm
Zoom

Wed, Oct 14, 6:30pm - 7:00pm
Zoom

Thu, Oct 15, 11:00am - 11:30am
Zoom

Thu, Oct 15, 3:00pm - 4:00pm
Zoom

Thu, Oct 15, 6:30pm - 7:30pm
Zoom

Mon, Oct 19, All day
Instagram