close
Font size options
Increase or decrease the font size for this website by clicking on the 'A's.
Contrast options
Choose a colour combintion to give he most comfortable contrast.

Registration now closed

Off the Page Author Series

Scott Longert Author Visit

2019-04-23 18:30:00 2019-04-23 20:00:00 America/New_York Off the Page Author Series Firestone Park Branch Library

Tuesday, April 23
6:30pm - 8:00pm

Add to Calendar 2019-04-23 18:30:00 2019-04-23 20:00:00 America/New_York Off the Page Author Series Cleveland Indians historian Scott Longert visits the Firestone Park Branch Library to discuss his latest book Bad Times, Bad Boys, about the Indians in the prewar years, 1939-1944. Firestone Park Branch Library

Cleveland Indians historian Scott Longert visits the Firestone Park Branch Library to discuss his latest book Bad Times, Bad Boys, about the Indians in the prewar years, 1939-1944.

Scott Longert has spent many years in the history field serving as the Sports Archivist for the Western Reserve Historical Society and Site Manager for Shandy Hall, an 1815 home in northeast Ohio. Scott was a Park Ranger for the National Park Service, stationed at the James A. Garfield National Historic Site until his recent retirement.

Scott's other books about the Indians include The Best They Could Be, No Money; No Beer, No Pennants: The Cleveland Indians and Baseball in the Great Depression; and Addie Joss: King of the Pitchers.

In addition to writing, Scott is an accomplished speaker. He spoke at the 100th-anniversary ceremony of Addie Joss's perfect game, held on the grounds of historic League Park.

AGE GROUP: | Adults |

EVENT TYPE: | Books & Writing |

TAGS: | |

Firestone Park Branch Library

firestone@akronlibrary.org
Phone: 330.724.2126
Branch Manager
Susan Vandenberg

Hours
Mon, Oct 07 10:00AM to 8:00PM
Tue, Oct 08 10:00AM to 8:00PM
Wed, Oct 09 10:00AM to 8:00PM
Thu, Oct 10 10:00AM to 8:00PM
Fri, Oct 11 12:00PM to 6:00PM
Sat, Oct 12 10:00AM to 5:00PM
Sun, Oct 13 Closed

About the library

The Firestone Park Branch Library has the tools and resources that customers need to meet their personal and professional goals—computers and computer classes, mini-clinics for one-on-one tech assistance, WiFi, printing, copying, scanning, faxing, and more. A rich collection of books, music, and movies, including a large Parent-Teacher collection, complements these services, offering learning and entertainment opportunities responsive to the needs and interests of the Firestone Park community.


The Firestone Park Branch Library is also a neighborhood hub for programming for all ages—storytime for the youngest customers, Fun Club for school-age visitors, teen gaming and crafting, adult learning opportunities, and an evolving NatureConnect space that inspires outdoor exploration programming across the seasons. Firestone Branch Library staff is out in the community—at schools and local events—and at the library to bring educational and entertainment resources to all.

Upcoming events

Mon, Oct 14, 6:00pm - 7:30pm
Community Room

Tue, Oct 15, 10:15am - 11:00am
Community Room

Wed, Oct 16, 3:00pm - 4:00pm
Community Room

Thu, Oct 17, 11:00am - 12:00pm
Community Room

Tue, Oct 22, 10:15am - 11:00am
Community Room

Wed, Oct 23, 3:00pm - 5:00pm
Community Room

Thu, Oct 24, 11:00am - 12:00pm
Community Room

Sat, Oct 26, 1:00pm - 2:00pm
Community Room

Mon, Oct 28, 10:00am - 11:00am

Mon, Oct 28, 6:00pm - 7:30pm
Community Room

Tue, Oct 29, 10:15am - 11:00am
Community Room

Wed, Oct 30, 3:00pm - 4:00pm
Community Room

Thu, Oct 31, 11:00am - 12:00pm
Community Room

Mon, Nov 04, 3:00pm - 4:00pm
Community Room

Tue, Nov 05, 10:15am - 11:00am
Community Room

Wed, Nov 06, 3:00pm - 4:00pm
Community Room

Wed, Nov 06, 7:00pm - 8:00pm

Thu, Nov 07, 11:00am - 12:00pm
Community Room

Sat, Nov 09, 12:00pm - 1:00pm

Sat, Nov 09, 1:00pm - 2:30pm
Community Room

Mon, Nov 11, 6:00pm - 7:30pm
Community Room

Tue, Nov 12, 10:15am - 11:00am
Community Room