close
Font size options
Increase or decrease the font size for this website by clicking on the 'A's.
Contrast options
Choose a colour combintion to give he most comfortable contrast.

Registration now closed

Off the Page Author Series

Salvatore Scibona Author Visit

2019-03-14 18:30:00 2019-03-14 20:00:00 America/New_York Off the Page Author Series Firestone Park Branch Library

Thursday, March 14
6:30pm - 8:00pm

Add to Calendar 2019-03-14 18:30:00 2019-03-14 20:00:00 America/New_York Off the Page Author Series National Book Award Finalist Salvatore Scibona visits Firestone Park Branch Library as part of the publicity tour to promote his new novel The Volunteer, out March 5th, 2019. Firestone Park Branch Library

National Book Award Finalist Salvatore Scibona visits Firestone Park Branch Library as part of the publicity tour to promote his new novel The Volunteer, out March 5th, 2019.

Salvatore Scibona's first novel, The End, was a finalist for the National Book Award and winner of the Young Lions Fiction Award. His work has won a Guggenheim Fellowship, a Pushcart Prize, an O. Henry Award, and a Whiting Award; and the New Yorker named him one of its "20 Under 40" fiction writers to watch. He is the Sue Ann and John Weinberg Director of the Cullman Center for Scholars and Writers at the New York Public Library.

The Volunteer begins as a small boy speaking an unknown language is abandoned by his father at an international airport. In order to understand this heartbreaking scene, the story must return to the moment, decades earlier, when a young man named Vollie Frade enlists in the United States Marine Corps to fight in Vietnam. From the Cambodian jungle, to a flophouse in Queens, to a commune in New Mexico, Vollie’s path traces a secret history of life on the margins of America, culminating with an inevitable and terrible reckoning. An odyssey of loss and salvation, The Volunteer is a triumph in the grandest traditions of American storytelling.

 

AGE GROUP: | Adults |

EVENT TYPE: | Books & Writing |

TAGS: | |

Firestone Park Branch Library

firestone@akronlibrary.org
Phone: 330.724.2126
Branch Manager
Susan Vandenberg

Hours
We're closed Monday May 27
Mon, May 20 10:00AM to 8:00PM
Tue, May 21 10:00AM to 8:00PM
Wed, May 22 10:00AM to 8:00PM
Thu, May 23 10:00AM to 8:00PM
Fri, May 24 12:00PM to 6:00PM
Sat, May 25 10:00AM to 5:00PM
Sun, May 26 Closed

About the library

The Firestone Park Branch Library has the tools and resources that customers need to meet their personal and professional goals—computers and computer classes, mini-clinics for one-on-one tech assistance, WiFi, printing, copying, scanning, faxing, and more. A rich collection of books, music, and movies, including a large Parent-Teacher collection, complements these services, offering learning and entertainment opportunities responsive to the needs and interests of the Firestone Park community.


The Firestone Park Branch Library is also a neighborhood hub for programming for all ages—storytime for the youngest customers, Fun Club for school-age visitors, teen gaming and crafting, adult learning opportunities, and an evolving NatureConnect space that inspires outdoor exploration programming across the seasons. Firestone Branch Library staff is out in the community—at schools and local events—and at the library to bring educational and entertainment resources to all.

Upcoming events

Thu, May 23, 11:00am - 12:00pm
Community Room

Mon, May 27, 6:00pm - 7:30pm
Community Room

Wed, May 29, 10:00am - 11:00am

Wed, May 29, 3:00pm - 4:00pm
Community Room

Wed, May 29, 6:00pm - 7:00pm
Community Room

Thu, May 30, 11:00am - 12:00pm
Community Room

Tue, Jun 04, 2:00pm - 4:00pm
Community Room

Wed, Jun 05, 10:00am - 11:00am

Wed, Jun 05, 6:00pm - 7:00pm
Community Room

Thu, Jun 06, 11:00am - 12:00pm
Community Room

Sat, Jun 08, 11:30am - 1:00pm
Nature Connect Garden

Mon, Jun 10, 6:00pm - 7:30pm
Community Room

Tue, Jun 11, 11:00am - 1:00pm
Community Room

Tue, Jun 11, 6:30pm - 8:00pm
Community Room

Wed, Jun 12, 10:00am - 11:00am

Wed, Jun 12, 6:00pm - 7:00pm
Community Room

Thu, Jun 13, 11:00am - 12:00pm
Community Room

Tue, Jun 18, 11:00am - 1:00pm
Community Room

Canceled
Tue, Jun 18, 6:30pm - 8:00pm

Wed, Jun 19, 10:00am - 11:00am

Wed, Jun 19, 6:00pm - 7:00pm
Community Room

Thu, Jun 20, 11:00am - 12:00pm
Community Room