close
Font size options
Increase or decrease the font size for this website by clicking on the 'A's.
Contrast options
Choose a colour combintion to give he most comfortable contrast.

World War II Akron by Tim Carroll

Author Talk

2019-04-23 18:00:00 2019-04-23 19:30:00 America/New_York World War II Akron by Tim Carroll Ellet Branch Library

Tuesday, April 23
6:00pm - 7:30pm

Add to Calendar 2019-04-23 18:00:00 2019-04-23 19:30:00 America/New_York World War II Akron by Tim Carroll Local Author Tim Carroll will discuss his book World War II Akron which has many great pictures and stories including many from Summit County and the Goodyear blimps. Ellet Branch Library

Ellet Branch Library

Community Room

Local Author Tim Carroll will discuss his book World War II Akron which has many great pictures and stories including many from Summit County and the Goodyear blimps.

Meet local author Tim Carroll and hear him discuss his new book World War II Akron.  World War II Akron tells the stories of the men who served in World War II from Summit county including many of the soldiers killed in the war. Blimps built by Goodyear hunted German and Japanese subs in the war and the book is filled with great photos of Goodyear Navy blimps in action. Other topics to be covered will be the Dogs for Defense program, Congressional Medal of Honor winners, The Boy Scout draft, the Fathers draft, and a thorough history of Summit County during World War II.

Ellet Branch Library

ellet@akronlibrary.org
Phone: 330.784.2019
Branch Manager
Brian Burch

Hours
Mon, Jun 01 10:00AM to 8:00PM
Tue, Jun 02 10:00AM to 8:00PM
Wed, Jun 03 10:00AM to 8:00PM
Thu, Jun 04 10:00AM to 8:00PM
Fri, Jun 05 12:00PM to 6:00PM
Sat, Jun 06 10:00AM to 5:00PM
Sun, Jun 07 Closed

About the library

The Ellet Branch Library is a hub of education and entertainment for community members of all ages. Within the library, popular programs for adults include summer concerts, knitting and book discussion groups and a monthly Memory Café for people in the early stages of dementia and Alzheimer’s. For teens, weekly events include gaming, creative arts, and more. Finally, for younger children and their families, play, storytime, crafting, and parent/child early literacy programs are popular attractions. In the community, Ellet Branch Library staff can be found at area schools, at Safe Landing Teen Shelter, the Ellet Historical Society, and collaborating with community organizations to make Ellet the best it can be.


Computers and computer classes, WiFi, printing, copying, scanning, and faxing complement a rich collection of books (themed book bundles and accelerated reader titles are particularly popular), music (listen to the Ellet podcast that features the work of unique artists), and movies to make the Ellet Branch Library the one-stop spot for the community's educational and entertainment needs and interests.

Upcoming events

Canceled
Tue, Jun 09, 10:15am - 11:15am

Canceled
Tue, Jun 09, 6:30pm - 7:30pm

Canceled
Wed, Jun 10, 10:30am - 11:30am

Canceled
Thu, Jun 11, 2:00pm - 3:30pm

Canceled
Fri, Jun 12, 2:00pm - 3:30pm

Canceled
Mon, Jun 15, 11:00am - 12:00pm

Canceled
Mon, Jun 15, 3:30pm - 5:00pm

Canceled
Tue, Jun 16, 10:15am - 11:15am

Canceled
Wed, Jun 17, 10:30am - 11:30am

Canceled
Thu, Jun 18, 2:00pm - 3:30pm

Canceled
Thu, Jun 18, 6:30pm - 7:30pm

Canceled
Fri, Jun 19, 6:30pm - 7:30pm

Canceled
Sat, Jun 20, 2:00pm - 4:00pm

Canceled
Mon, Jun 22, 11:00am - 12:00pm

Canceled
Tue, Jun 23, 10:15am - 11:15am

Canceled
Tue, Jun 23, 6:30pm - 7:30pm

Canceled
Wed, Jun 24, 10:30am - 11:30am

Canceled
Sat, Jun 27, 11:00am - 12:00pm

Canceled
Sat, Jun 27, 1:00pm - 2:00pm

Canceled
Mon, Jun 29, 11:00am - 12:00pm

Canceled
Tue, Jun 30, 10:15am - 11:15am

Canceled
Wed, Jul 01, 10:30am - 11:30am

Canceled
Thu, Jul 02, 2:00pm - 3:30pm