close
Font size options
Increase or decrease the font size for this website by clicking on the 'A's.
Contrast options
Choose a colour combintion to give he most comfortable contrast.

World War II Akron by Tim Carroll

Author Talk

2019-05-11 13:00:00 2019-05-11 14:00:00 America/New_York World War II Akron by Tim Carroll Portage Lakes Branch Library

Saturday, May 11
1:00pm - 2:00pm

Add to Calendar 2019-05-11 13:00:00 2019-05-11 14:00:00 America/New_York World War II Akron by Tim Carroll World War II Akron tells the stories of the men who served from Summit County and includes over 100 rare photographs. Books available for purchase and author signing following the presentation. Portage Lakes Branch Library

World War II Akron tells the stories of the men who served from Summit County and includes over 100 rare photographs. Books available for purchase and author signing following the presentation.

The book is filled with great photos of Goodyear Navy blimps in action.  Other topics include the Dogs for Defense program, Congressional Medal of Honor winners, the Boy Scout draft, the Fathers draft, and a thorough history of Summit County during World War II.

AGE GROUP: | Teen | Adults |

EVENT TYPE: | History | Books & Writing |

TAGS: | WWII | writing | war | Summit County | Goodyear | blimp | author | Akron History | airships |

Portage Lakes Branch Library

portagelakes@akronlibrary.org
Phone: 330.644.7050
Branch Manager
Cheryl Luck

Hours
Mon, Jun 01 10:00AM to 8:00PM
Tue, Jun 02 10:00AM to 8:00PM
Wed, Jun 03 10:00AM to 8:00PM
Thu, Jun 04 10:00AM to 8:00PM
Fri, Jun 05 12:00PM to 6:00PM
Sat, Jun 06 10:00AM to 5:00PM
Sun, Jun 07 Closed

About the library

It's not unusual for customers to take a few moments out of their busy day to relax and read in the comfortable chairs beside the Portage Lakes Branch Library's large windows, enjoying the natural light and the beautiful views of flora and fauna. Visitors from surrounding communities—Coventry, New Franklin, Green, Clinton, Canal Fulton, Barberton, and Massillon—join local residents in visiting the Portage Lakes Branch Library to enjoy NatureConnect, learning-through-play and storytime programming, crafting opportunities, book discussions, arts and history informational programming, and more.


With rich book, music, and movie resources, Portage Lakes Branch Library has something for everyone of every age. Computers, WiFi, printing, copying, scanning, and faxing round out the services available at the Portage Lakes Branch Library, making it a one-stop spot for all your learning, business, and entertainment needs and interests.

Upcoming events

Canceled
Sat, Jun 06, 10:30am - 12:00pm

Canceled
Mon, Jun 08, 1:30pm - 2:30pm

Canceled
Mon, Jun 08, 6:00pm - 7:00pm

Canceled
Thu, Jun 11, 11:00am - 12:00pm

Canceled
Fri, Jun 12, 1:00pm - 3:00pm

Canceled
Sat, Jun 13, 2:00pm - 3:00pm

Canceled
Mon, Jun 15, 11:00am - 12:00pm

Canceled
Tue, Jun 16, 11:00am - 12:00pm

Canceled
Tue, Jun 16, 2:00pm - 3:00pm

Canceled
Wed, Jun 17, 11:00am - 12:00pm

Canceled
Thu, Jun 18, 11:00am - 12:00pm

Canceled
Thu, Jun 18, 6:00pm - 7:30pm

Canceled
Tue, Jun 23, 11:00am - 12:00pm

Canceled
Tue, Jun 23, 2:00pm - 3:00pm

Canceled
Thu, Jun 25, 11:00am - 12:00pm

Canceled
Thu, Jun 25, 6:30pm - 7:30pm

Canceled
Fri, Jun 26, 1:00pm - 3:00pm

Canceled
Mon, Jun 29, 6:00pm - 7:30pm

Canceled
Tue, Jun 30, 11:00am - 12:00pm

Canceled
Tue, Jun 30, 2:00pm - 3:00pm

Canceled
Wed, Jul 01, 2:00pm - 3:00pm

Canceled
Wed, Jul 01, 6:30pm - 7:30pm

Canceled
Thu, Jul 02, 11:00am - 12:00pm

Canceled
Thu, Jul 02, 6:00pm - 7:30pm