close
Font size options
Increase or decrease the font size for this website by clicking on the 'A's.
Contrast options
Choose a colour combintion to give he most comfortable contrast.

Nature Photography and the iNaturalist App

2019-05-01 18:00:00 2019-05-01 19:00:00 America/New_York Nature Photography and the iNaturalist App Portage Lakes Branch Library

Wednesday, May 01
6:00pm - 7:00pm

Add to Calendar 2019-05-01 18:00:00 2019-05-01 19:00:00 America/New_York Nature Photography and the iNaturalist App Use your smartphone's camera and the iNaturalist app to record the nature in your own neighborhood and be a citizen scientist. Portage Lakes Branch Library

Use your smartphone's camera and the iNaturalist app to record the nature in your own neighborhood and be a citizen scientist.

Photographer Joan Crookston teams up with librarian (and nature lover) Michele McNeal to teach you how to maximize your phone's camera and the nature-identifying app, iNaturalist, to be a contributing Citizen Scientist. Get ready to participate in the City Nature Challenge and the Akron-Summit County Public Library's fall Bioblitz, or just learn for fun.  

AGE GROUP: | Teen | Adults |

EVENT TYPE: | Science | Nature & Outdoors |

TAGS: | photography | nature | citizen science |

Portage Lakes Branch Library

portagelakes@akronlibrary.org
Phone: 330.644.7050
Branch Manager
Cheryl Luck

Hours
Mon, Sep 16 10:00AM to 8:00PM
Tue, Sep 17 10:00AM to 8:00PM
Wed, Sep 18 10:00AM to 8:00PM
Thu, Sep 19 10:00AM to 8:00PM
Fri, Sep 20 12:00PM to 6:00PM
Sat, Sep 21 10:00AM to 5:00PM
Sun, Sep 22 Closed

About the library

It's not unusual for customers to take a few moments out of their busy day to relax and read in the comfortable chairs beside the Portage Lakes Branch Library's large windows, enjoying the natural light and the beautiful views of flora and fauna. Visitors from surrounding communities—Coventry, New Franklin, Green, Clinton, Canal Fulton, Barberton, and Massillon—join local residents in visiting the Portage Lakes Branch Library to enjoy NatureConnect, learning-through-play and storytime programming, crafting opportunities, book discussions, arts and history informational programming, and more.


With rich book, music, and movie resources, Portage Lakes Branch Library has something for everyone of every age. Computers, WiFi, printing, copying, scanning, and faxing round out the services available at the Portage Lakes Branch Library, making it a one-stop spot for all your learning, business, and entertainment needs and interests.

Upcoming events

Sat, Sep 21, 11:00am - 12:00pm
Community Room

Sat, Sep 21, 2:00pm - 3:00pm
Community Room

Tue, Sep 24, 11:00am - 12:00pm
Community Room

Tue, Sep 24, 6:00pm - 7:00pm
Community Room

Wed, Sep 25, 6:00pm - 7:30pm
Community Room

Thu, Sep 26, 6:30pm - 7:30pm
Community Room

Fri, Sep 27, 1:00pm - 3:00pm
Community Room

Sat, Sep 28, 10:30am - 12:00pm
Community Room
This event is full

Sat, Sep 28, 1:30pm - 4:30pm
Community Room

Wed, Oct 02, 6:30pm - 7:30pm
Community Room

Thu, Oct 03, 10:30am - 12:00pm
Conference Room

Sat, Oct 05, 9:00am - 10:00am
Community Room

Sat, Oct 05, 10:00am - 3:00pm
Community Room

Wed, Oct 09, 1:00pm - 2:00pm
Community Room

Thu, Oct 10, 11:00am - 12:00pm
Community Room

Thu, Oct 10, 6:00pm - 7:30pm
Community Room

Fri, Oct 11, 1:00pm - 3:00pm
Community Room

Sat, Oct 12, 1:00pm - 2:00pm
Community Room

Sat, Oct 12, 2:00pm - 3:00pm

Mon, Oct 14, 11:00am - 12:00pm
Community Room

Mon, Oct 14, 1:30pm - 2:30pm
Conference Room

Thu, Oct 17, 11:00am - 12:00pm
Community Room

Thu, Oct 17, 6:00pm - 7:30pm
Community Room

Sat, Oct 19, 11:00am - 12:00pm
Community Room

Sat, Oct 19, 2:00pm - 3:00pm
Community Room