close
Font size options
Increase or decrease the font size for this website by clicking on the 'A's.
Contrast options
Choose a colour combintion to give he most comfortable contrast.

Registration now closed

Nature Photography and the iNaturalist App

Use your phone to be a citizen scientist

2019-04-29 18:30:00 2019-04-29 20:00:00 America/New_York Nature Photography and the iNaturalist App Main Library

Monday, April 29
6:30pm - 8:00pm

Add to Calendar 2019-04-29 18:30:00 2019-04-29 20:00:00 America/New_York Nature Photography and the iNaturalist App Use your smartphone's camera and the iNaturalist app to record the nature in your own neighborhood and be a citizen scientist. Main Library

Main Library

Meeting Room 2AB

Use your smartphone's camera and the iNaturalist app to record the nature in your own neighborhood and be a citizen scientist.

Photographer Joan Crookston teams up with librarian (and nature lover) Michele McNeal to teach you how to maximize your phone’s camera and the nature-identifying app iNaturalist. Get ready to participate in the City Nature Challenge and the Akron-Summit County Public Library’s fall Bioblitz, or just learn for fun.  

AGE GROUP: | Tween | Teen | Adults |

EVENT TYPE: | Science | Nature & Outdoors |

TAGS: | photography | nature | citizen science |

Main Library

Phone: 330.643.9000

Hours
Mon, Sep 16 10:00AM to 8:00PM
Tue, Sep 17 10:00AM to 8:00PM
Wed, Sep 18 10:00AM to 8:00PM
Thu, Sep 19 10:00AM to 8:00PM
Fri, Sep 20 10:00AM to 6:00PM
Sat, Sep 21 10:00AM to 5:00PM
Sun, Sep 22 1:00PM to 5:00PM

About the library

Main Library, located in the heart of downtown Akron, combines compelling public space with meaningful and relevant public library services for all members of our community. Since opening in 2004, the downtown library welcomes more than one million visitors each year.

Subject divisions include: Business & Government, Culture & AV, Magazines & Newspapers, Science & Technology, Special Collections (local history & genealogy), Teen, and a 12,000 square feet Children's Library.

Special services available at Main Library include: a Patent & Trademark Resource Center; U.S. Passport and Notary services; a Microbusiness Center; a Maker Space; a resource lab for early childhood educators; and regularly scheduled computer training classes. Also available at Main Library are more than 125 public access computers, color photocopiers/printers, laminating, scanning, faxing, and free Wi-Fi.

Specialized spaces include a 425-seat auditorium, public meeting rooms, and a used bookstore. An interior glass block walkway leads to a 600-space parking garage owned by the City of Akron. An outdoor amphitheater and landscaped park complete the complex.

Upcoming events

Fri, Sep 20, 2:00pm - 3:30pm
Computer Lab 1

Sat, Sep 21, 12:00pm - 3:00pm
Auditorium

Sun, Sep 22, 2:00pm - 2:30pm
Children's Library Programming Room

Mon, Sep 23, 10:30am - 11:30am
Children's Library Programming Room

Tue, Sep 24, 5:30pm - 6:30pm
Auditorium
Registration is now closed

Wed, Sep 25, 10:30am - 11:30am
Children's Library Programming Room

Wed, Sep 25, 2:00pm - 3:30pm
TechZone

Wed, Sep 25, 5:30pm - 6:30pm
Meeting Room 1

Thu, Sep 26, 10:30am - 11:30am
Children's Library Programming Room

Thu, Sep 26, 11:00am - 12:00pm
Meeting Room 1

Thu, Sep 26, 5:30pm - 6:30pm
Meeting Room 1

Thu, Sep 26, 6:30pm - 7:30pm
Meeting Room 2AB

Thu, Sep 26, 6:30pm - 8:15pm
Auditorium

Sat, Sep 28, 2:00pm - 3:00pm
Children's Library Programming Room

Sat, Sep 28, 3:00pm - 4:00pm
Teen Meeting Room

Sun, Sep 29, 2:00pm - 2:30pm
Children's Library Programming Room

Mon, Sep 30, 10:30am - 11:30am
Children's Library Programming Room

Mon, Sep 30, 6:00pm - 7:30pm
TechZone

Tue, Oct 01, 5:30pm - 6:30pm
Auditorium
Registration is now closed

Tue, Oct 01, 6:30pm - 7:30pm
Meeting Room 2AB

Wed, Oct 02, 10:30am - 11:30am
Children's Library Programming Room

Wed, Oct 02, 2:00pm - 3:30pm
TechZone

Wed, Oct 02, 6:30pm - 8:00pm
Meeting Room 1

Thu, Oct 03, 10:30am - 11:30am
Children's Library Programming Room

Thu, Oct 03, 5:30pm - 6:30pm
Meeting Room 1

Thu, Oct 03, 6:30pm - 8:40pm
Auditorium

Fri, Oct 04, 10:30am - 12:00pm
Computer Lab 1

Fri, Oct 04, 2:00pm - 3:00pm
Children's Library Programming Room

Sat, Oct 05, 11:00am - 12:00pm
Children's Library Programming Room

Sat, Oct 05, 1:00pm - 4:00pm
Auditorium

Sat, Oct 05, 3:00pm - 4:15pm
Meeting Room 1

Sun, Oct 06, 2:00pm - 2:30pm
Children's Library Programming Room

Mon, Oct 07, 10:30am - 11:30am
Children's Library Programming Room

Mon, Oct 07, 6:00pm - 7:30pm
TechZone

Tue, Oct 08, 10:30am - 12:00pm
TechZone

Tue, Oct 08, 10:30am - 11:30am
Children's Library Programming Room

Tue, Oct 08, 1:00pm - 2:30pm
Microbusiness Center

Tue, Oct 08, 5:30pm - 6:30pm
Auditorium
Registration is now closed

Tue, Oct 08, 6:30pm - 7:30pm
Science & Technology

Wed, Oct 09, 10:30am - 11:30am
Children's Library Programming Room

Wed, Oct 09, 6:00pm - 7:30pm
Children's Library Programming Room

Wed, Oct 09, 7:00pm - 9:30pm
Auditorium

Thu, Oct 10, 10:30am - 11:30am
Children's Library Programming Room

Thu, Oct 10, 2:00pm - 3:30pm
Computer Lab 1

Thu, Oct 10, 5:30pm - 6:30pm
Meeting Room 1

Thu, Oct 10, 6:00pm - 7:30pm
Meeting Room 2AB

Thu, Oct 10, 6:30pm - 8:00pm
Auditorium

Fri, Oct 11, 6:30pm - 10:30pm
Special Collections

Sat, Oct 12, 11:00am - 12:00pm
Children's Library RECE Lab

Sat, Oct 12, 12:00pm - 4:00pm
Atrium

Sat, Oct 12, 3:00pm - 4:00pm
Meeting Room 1

Sun, Oct 13, 2:00pm - 2:30pm
Children's Library Programming Room

Mon, Oct 14, 10:30am - 11:30am
Children's Library Programming Room

Tue, Oct 15, 1:00pm - 2:30pm
Microbusiness Center

Wed, Oct 16, 10:30am - 11:30am
Children's Library Programming Room

Thu, Oct 17, 10:00am - 8:00pm
Garden Trio Corridor

Thu, Oct 17, 10:30am - 11:30am
Children's Library Programming Room

Thu, Oct 17, 11:00am - 1:15pm
Meeting Room 1

Thu, Oct 17, 6:30pm - 8:30pm
Auditorium

Fri, Oct 18, 10:00am - 8:00pm
Garden Trio Corridor

Fri, Oct 18, 10:30am - 12:00pm
Computer Lab 1
Registration opens Friday, September 27 2019 at 10:00am

Sat, Oct 19, 10:00am - 8:00pm
Garden Trio Corridor

Sat, Oct 19, 10:15am - 12:00pm
Science & Technology

Sat, Oct 19, 2:00pm - 3:00pm
Auditorium

Sat, Oct 19, 3:00pm - 4:00pm
Teen Meeting Room

Sun, Oct 20, 2:00pm - 2:30pm
Children's Library Programming Room

Sun, Oct 20, 2:00pm - 5:00pm
Auditorium