close
Font size options
Increase or decrease the font size for this website by clicking on the 'A's.
Contrast options
Choose a colour combintion to give he most comfortable contrast.

Registration now closed

African American Genealogy with Deborah Abbott

2019-03-30 10:30:00 2019-03-30 13:00:00 America/New_York African American Genealogy with Deborah Abbott Main Library

Saturday, March 30
10:30am - 1:00pm

Add to Calendar 2019-03-30 10:30:00 2019-03-30 13:00:00 America/New_York African American Genealogy with Deborah Abbott Presented by the Library and the Summit Co. Chapter of OGS, this program has two sessions: "African American Genealogy: Leaving No Stone Unturned" and "It's a Needle in a Haystack: Slave Research." Main Library

Main Library

Auditorium

Presented by the Library and the Summit Co. Chapter of OGS, this program has two sessions: "African American Genealogy: Leaving No Stone Unturned" and "It's a Needle in a Haystack: Slave Research."

Presented by the Special Collections Division and the Summit County Chapter of the Ohio Genealogical Society, African American Genealogy with Deborah Abbott will include two sessions:

10:30 am African American Genealogy: Leaving No Stone Unturned
This lecture is designed to help identify some of the most overlooked and underutilized sources for African American research, such as tax, school, military and court records, manuscripts, and newspapers. Using libraries and archives along with internet databases will be explored. You will learn tips and strategies on how to use these sources and where to find them.

11:45 am It’s a Needle in a Haystack: Slave Research
The most difficult part of genealogical research for African Americans is finding and identifying slave ancestors and their owners, but as difficult as this might seem, it’s not impossible. Learn the importance of analyzing information and collateral/cluster line research to help move you toward success. Using the 1940 U.S. Federal Census as the starting point, we will follow an African American family from freedom to identifying a potential slave owner.

Deborah A. Abbott, Ph.D. is a professional genealogist, specializing in African American research, manuscript collections, and genealogy methodology. A native of Cleveland, Ohio, she presents lectures and workshops at a variety of national, state, and local genealogy conferences. She is a member of the Association of Professional Genealogists and an instructor at the Salt Lake Institute of Genealogy and the African American Genealogy Colloquium at Alabama State University.

Free parking is available in the High-Market Parking Deck at 40 S. High St.

Main Library

Phone: 330.643.9000

Hours
Mon, Jul 06 11:00AM to 7:00PM
Tue, Jul 07 11:00AM to 7:00PM
Wed, Jul 08 11:00AM to 7:00PM
Thu, Jul 09 11:00AM to 7:00PM
Fri, Jul 10 11:00AM to 5:00PM
Sat, Jul 11 Closed
Sun, Jul 12 Closed

About the library

Main Library, located in the heart of downtown Akron, combines compelling public space with meaningful and relevant public library services for all members of our community. Since opening in 2004, the downtown library welcomes more than one million visitors each year.

Subject divisions include: Business & Government, Culture & AV, Magazines & Newspapers, Science & Technology, Special Collections (local history & genealogy), Teen, and a 12,000 square feet Children's Library.

Special services available at Main Library include: a Patent & Trademark Resource Center; U.S. Passport and Notary services; a Microbusiness Center; a Maker Space; a resource lab for early childhood educators; and regularly scheduled computer training classes. Also available at Main Library are more than 125 public access computers, color photocopiers/printers, laminating, scanning, faxing, and free Wi-Fi.

Specialized spaces include a 425-seat auditorium, public meeting rooms, and a used bookstore. An interior glass block walkway leads to a 600-space parking garage owned by the City of Akron. An outdoor amphitheater and landscaped park complete the complex.

Upcoming events

Canceled
Wed, Jul 08, 10:30am - 11:30am

Canceled
Wed, Jul 08, 2:00pm - 3:00pm

Canceled
Thu, Jul 09, 10:30am - 11:30am

Canceled
Thu, Jul 09, 1:30pm - 3:00pm

Canceled
Sat, Jul 11, 11:00am - 12:00pm

Canceled
Sat, Jul 11, 3:00pm - 4:00pm

Canceled
Sun, Jul 12, 2:00pm - 2:30pm

Canceled
Mon, Jul 13, 10:30am - 11:30am

Canceled
Tue, Jul 14, 10:30am - 11:30am

Canceled
Tue, Jul 14, 3:00pm - 4:00pm

Canceled
Wed, Jul 15, 10:30am - 11:30am

Canceled
Wed, Jul 15, 2:00pm - 3:00pm

Canceled
Wed, Jul 15, 5:30pm - 6:30pm

Canceled
Wed, Jul 15, 6:30pm - 7:30pm

Canceled
Thu, Jul 16, 10:30am - 11:30am

Canceled
Thu, Jul 16, 1:30pm - 3:15pm

Canceled
Thu, Jul 16, 4:00pm - 7:30pm

Canceled
Sat, Jul 18, 11:00am - 4:00pm

Canceled
Sat, Jul 18, 1:00pm - 3:00pm

Canceled
Sun, Jul 19, 2:00pm - 2:30pm

Canceled
Mon, Jul 20, 10:30am - 11:30am

Canceled
Tue, Jul 21, 3:00pm - 4:00pm

Canceled
Wed, Jul 22, 10:30am - 11:30am

Canceled
Wed, Jul 22, 2:00pm - 3:00pm

Canceled
Thu, Jul 23, 10:30am - 11:30am

Canceled
Thu, Jul 23, 1:30pm - 3:10pm

Canceled
Sat, Jul 25, 2:00pm - 3:00pm

Canceled
Sun, Jul 26, 2:00pm - 2:30pm

Canceled
Mon, Jul 27, 10:30am - 11:30am

Canceled
Tue, Jul 28, 3:00pm - 4:00pm

Canceled
Wed, Jul 29, 10:30am - 11:30am

Canceled
Wed, Jul 29, 2:00pm - 3:00pm

Canceled
Thu, Jul 30, 10:30am - 11:30am

Canceled
Thu, Jul 30, 1:30pm - 3:00pm

Canceled
Sat, Aug 01, 11:00am - 12:00pm

Canceled
Sun, Aug 02, 2:00pm - 2:30pm

Canceled
Mon, Aug 03, 10:30am - 11:30am

Canceled
Mon, Aug 03, 11:00am - 12:00pm

Canceled
Tue, Aug 04, 11:00am - 12:00pm

Canceled
Wed, Aug 05, 10:30am - 11:30am

Canceled
Wed, Aug 05, 11:00am - 12:00pm

Canceled
Thu, Aug 06, 10:30am - 11:30am

Canceled
Thu, Aug 06, 11:00am - 12:00pm

Canceled
Thu, Aug 06, 1:30pm - 3:45pm

Canceled
Fri, Aug 07, 11:00am - 12:00pm