close
Font size options
Increase or decrease the font size for this website by clicking on the 'A's.
Contrast options
Choose a colour combintion to give he most comfortable contrast.

The Emancipation Proclamation

2019-02-26 18:30:00 2019-02-26 19:30:00 America/New_York The Emancipation Proclamation Tallmadge Branch Library

Tuesday, February 26
6:30pm - 7:30pm

Add to Calendar 2019-02-26 18:30:00 2019-02-26 19:30:00 America/New_York The Emancipation Proclamation Join us to learn more about President Lincoln and the Emancipation Proclamation. Tallmadge Branch Library

Tallmadge Branch Library

Community Room

Join us to learn more about President Lincoln and the Emancipation Proclamation.

It is hard for us today to understand how politically dangerous the Emancipation Proclamation was for Abraham Lincoln.  Some historians say that the roots of the Emancipation Proclamation started with Lincoln back in 1848.  Join Paul Goebbel for a first-person account of these events.

AGE GROUP: | Adults | 50+ |

EVENT TYPE: | History |

TAGS: | Lincoln | history |

Tallmadge Branch Library

tallmadge@akronlibrary.org
Phone: 330.633.4345
Branch Manager
Michael Bianchi

Hours
Mon, Feb 24 10:00AM to 8:00PM
Tue, Feb 25 10:00AM to 8:00PM
Wed, Feb 26 10:00AM to 8:00PM
Thu, Feb 27 10:00AM to 8:00PM
Fri, Feb 28 12:00PM to 6:00PM
Sat, Feb 29 10:00AM to 5:00PM
Sun, Mar 01 Closed

About the library

The Tallmadge Branch Library recognizes the rich history of its city while providing relevant and responsive service to today's active and evolving community. The local history Lawrence Collection resides at the public library and the adult services librarian works closely with the Tallmadge Historical Society to preserve and share the area's important heritage. Today's information and entertainment needs are met through a rich collection of books that include very popular Inspirational Fiction titles, and Tallmadge High School Yearbooks. Music and movies, along with computers and computer classes, WiFi, printing, copying, scanning, and faxing rounds out a diverse selection of resources and services.


Visitors to the Tallmadge Branch Library enjoy programming for all ages, including play and storytime, book discussion and crafting opportunities, StoryWalk, and more. If you're visiting the nearby MetroParks Freedom Trail, be sure to visit the library's evolving NatureConnect area for interactive and hands-on nature experiences. The Tallmadge Branch Library is a one-stop spot for the community's educational and entertainment needs and interests.

Upcoming events

Wed, Feb 26, 10:15am - 10:45am
Community Room

Wed, Feb 26, 11:00am - 12:00pm
Community Room

Thu, Feb 27, 4:00pm - 5:00pm
Community Room

Mon, Mar 02, 10:30am - 11:30am
Community Room

Tue, Mar 03, 1:00pm - 3:00pm
Community Room

Tue, Mar 03, 6:00pm - 7:30pm
Community Room

Thu, Mar 05, 3:00pm - 4:00pm
Community Room

Sat, Mar 07, 10:30am - 11:30am

Mon, Mar 09, 2:00pm - 3:00pm
Community Room

Mon, Mar 09, 5:00pm - 6:00pm

Tue, Mar 10, 3:00pm - 4:00pm
Conference Room

Tue, Mar 10, 6:00pm - 7:30pm
Community Room

Wed, Mar 11, 10:15am - 10:45am
Community Room

Wed, Mar 11, 11:00am - 12:00pm
Community Room

Thu, Mar 12, 4:30pm - 5:30pm
Community Room

Fri, Mar 13, 3:00pm - 4:00pm
Community Room

Tue, Mar 17, 10:30am - 11:30am
Community Room

Tue, Mar 17, 6:00pm - 7:30pm
Community Room

Wed, Mar 18, 10:15am - 10:45am
Community Room

Wed, Mar 18, 11:00am - 12:00pm
Community Room

Tue, Mar 24, 3:00pm - 4:00pm
Conference Room

Tue, Mar 24, 3:00pm - 4:00pm
Community Room

Tue, Mar 24, 6:00pm - 7:30pm
Community Room

Wed, Mar 25, 10:15am - 10:45am
Community Room

Wed, Mar 25, 11:00am - 12:00pm
Community Room

Thu, Mar 26, 6:00pm - 7:30pm
Community Room

Fri, Mar 27, 3:00pm - 4:00pm
Community Room