close
Font size options
Increase or decrease the font size for this website by clicking on the 'A's.
Contrast options
Choose a colour combintion to give he most comfortable contrast.

Registration now closed

Maker Mondays

2019-01-28 18:00:00 2019-01-28 19:00:00 America/New_York Maker Mondays Main Library

Monday, January 28
6:00pm - 7:00pm

Add to Calendar 2019-01-28 18:00:00 2019-01-28 19:00:00 America/New_York Maker Mondays Join us on select Mondays at 6 pm for a quick demonstration of how to use some of our equipment. Registration required. Call 330-643-9145 or email esdiv@akronlibrary.org to register. Main Library

Main Library

TechZone

Join us on select Mondays at 6 pm for a quick demonstration of how to use some of our equipment. Registration required. Call 330-643-9145 or email esdiv@akronlibrary.org to register.

TechZone@Main, Akron-Summit County Public Library's makerspace, has all kinds of equipment to help fulfill your creative dreams as an artist, entrepreneur, or small business owner.

  • 12/10/2018 | Vinyl Printer - Learn how to use our vinyl printer to print vinyl banners, stickers, window clings, heat transfer materials and more.
  • 12/17/2018 | Laser Engraver - Etch patterns, text, logo or pictures onto a variety of materials with our free Epilog Laser Engraver.
  • 1/28/19 | Media Transfer - Digitize VHS, Super 8, 8 mm, negatives, vinyl LPs, or cassettes for free at our Media Transfer Station.
  • 2/4/2019 | Vinyl Printer - Learn how to use our vinyl printer to print vinyl banners, stickers, window clings, heat transfer materials and more.
  • 2/11/2019 | Silhouette Curio - Color, etch, and/or cut out on various materials on our free Silhouette Curio - it's a crafter's dream!
  • 2/18/2019 | Green Screen Room - Add a custom background to your picture or video by learning how to use our free green screen room.
  • 2/25/2019 | Laser Engraver - Etch patterns, text, logo or pictures onto a variety of materials with our free Epilog Laser Engraver.

AGE GROUP: | Adults |

EVENT TYPE: | Computers & Technology |

TAGS: | vinyl | techzone | printer | makerspace | maker | laser | engraver | computers | computer | art class |

Main Library

Phone: 330.643.9000

Hours
Mon, Oct 07 10:00AM to 8:00PM
Tue, Oct 08 10:00AM to 8:00PM
Wed, Oct 09 10:00AM to 8:00PM
Thu, Oct 10 10:00AM to 8:00PM
Fri, Oct 11 10:00AM to 6:00PM
Sat, Oct 12 10:00AM to 5:00PM
Sun, Oct 13 1:00PM to 5:00PM

About the library

Main Library, located in the heart of downtown Akron, combines compelling public space with meaningful and relevant public library services for all members of our community. Since opening in 2004, the downtown library welcomes more than one million visitors each year.

Subject divisions include: Business & Government, Culture & AV, Magazines & Newspapers, Science & Technology, Special Collections (local history & genealogy), Teen, and a 12,000 square feet Children's Library.

Special services available at Main Library include: a Patent & Trademark Resource Center; U.S. Passport and Notary services; a Microbusiness Center; a Maker Space; a resource lab for early childhood educators; and regularly scheduled computer training classes. Also available at Main Library are more than 125 public access computers, color photocopiers/printers, laminating, scanning, faxing, and free Wi-Fi.

Specialized spaces include a 425-seat auditorium, public meeting rooms, and a used bookstore. An interior glass block walkway leads to a 600-space parking garage owned by the City of Akron. An outdoor amphitheater and landscaped park complete the complex.

Upcoming events

Sun, Oct 13, 2:00pm - 2:30pm
Children's Library Programming Room

Mon, Oct 14, 10:30am - 11:30am
Children's Library Programming Room

Tue, Oct 15, 1:00pm - 2:30pm
Microbusiness Center
Registration is now closed

Wed, Oct 16, 10:30am - 11:30am
Children's Library Programming Room

Wed, Oct 16, 12:00pm - 2:00pm

Thu, Oct 17, 10:00am - 8:00pm
Garden Trio Corridor

Thu, Oct 17, 10:30am - 11:30am
Children's Library Programming Room

Thu, Oct 17, 11:00am - 1:15pm
Meeting Room 1

Thu, Oct 17, 6:30pm - 8:30pm
Auditorium

Fri, Oct 18, 10:30am - 12:00pm
Computer Lab 1

Fri, Oct 18, 10:30am - 12:00pm
TechZone

Sat, Oct 19, 10:15am - 12:00pm
Science & Technology

Sat, Oct 19, 2:00pm - 3:00pm
Auditorium

Sat, Oct 19, 3:00pm - 4:00pm
Teen Meeting Room

Sun, Oct 20, 2:00pm - 2:30pm
Children's Library Programming Room

Sun, Oct 20, 2:00pm - 5:00pm
Auditorium

Mon, Oct 21, 10:30am - 11:30am
Children's Library Programming Room

Mon, Oct 21, 6:15pm - 7:45pm
Computer Lab 2

Tue, Oct 22, 1:00pm - 2:30pm
Microbusiness Center
Registration is now closed

Tue, Oct 22, 2:00pm - 3:30pm
TechZone

Wed, Oct 23, 10:30am - 11:30am
Children's Library Programming Room

Thu, Oct 24, 10:30am - 11:30am
Children's Library Programming Room

Thu, Oct 24, 10:30am - 12:00pm
TechZone

Thu, Oct 24, 6:30pm - 7:30pm
Computer Lab 2

Thu, Oct 24, 6:30pm - 8:00pm
Auditorium

Fri, Oct 25, 10:30am - 12:00pm
TechZone

Fri, Oct 25, 2:00pm - 3:30pm
Computer Lab 1

Sat, Oct 26, 10:00am - 1:00pm
Auditorium

Sat, Oct 26, 10:30am - 11:30am
Science & Technology

Sat, Oct 26, 2:00pm - 4:00pm
Children's Library Programming Room

Sun, Oct 27, 2:00pm - 2:30pm
Children's Library Programming Room

Mon, Oct 28, 10:00am - 12:00pm
Meeting Room 2AB

Mon, Oct 28, 10:30am - 11:30am
Children's Library Programming Room

Tue, Oct 29, 1:00pm - 2:30pm
Microbusiness Center
Registration is now closed

Wed, Oct 30, 10:30am - 11:30am
Children's Library Programming Room

Wed, Oct 30, 2:00pm - 3:30pm
TechZone

Wed, Oct 30, 5:30pm - 7:30pm
Atrium

Thu, Oct 31, 10:30am - 11:30am
Children's Library Programming Room

Thu, Oct 31, 6:30pm - 8:00pm
Auditorium

Sat, Nov 02, 11:00am - 12:00pm
Children's Library Programming Room

Sat, Nov 02, 3:00pm - 4:00pm
Teen Meeting Room

Sun, Nov 03, 2:00pm - 2:30pm
Children's Library Programming Room

Mon, Nov 04, 10:30am - 11:00am
Children's Library Programming Room

Mon, Nov 04, 2:00pm - 3:30pm
TechZone

Mon, Nov 04, 6:00pm - 8:00pm
Science & Technology

Tue, Nov 05, 1:00pm - 2:30pm
Microbusiness Center
Registration is now closed

Tue, Nov 05, 2:00pm - 3:00pm
Children's Library Programming Room

Wed, Nov 06, 10:30am - 11:30am
Children's Library Programming Room

Wed, Nov 06, 6:30pm - 8:00pm
Meeting Room 1

Thu, Nov 07, 10:30am - 11:30am
Children's Library Programming Room

Thu, Nov 07, 11:00am - 12:00pm
Meeting Room 1

Thu, Nov 07, 2:00pm - 3:30pm
TechZone

Thu, Nov 07, 6:30pm - 8:10pm
Auditorium

Fri, Nov 08, 10:30am - 12:00pm
TechZone

Fri, Nov 08, 2:00pm - 3:30pm
Computer Lab 1
Registration opens Friday, October 18 2019 at 10:00am

Sat, Nov 09, 9:30am - 12:30pm
Children's Library RECE Lab

Sat, Nov 09, 11:00am - 12:00pm
Children's Library Programming Room

Sat, Nov 09, 1:00pm - 4:00pm
Meeting Room 2AB

Sun, Nov 10, 2:00pm - 2:30pm
Children's Library Programming Room

Mon, Nov 11, 10:30am - 11:00am
Children's Library Programming Room

Mon, Nov 11, 6:00pm - 7:30pm
TechZone

Tue, Nov 12, 10:30am - 11:30am
Children's Library Programming Room

Tue, Nov 12, 1:00pm - 2:30pm
Microbusiness Center
Registration is now closed

Tue, Nov 12, 6:30pm - 7:30pm
Science & Technology